The Australian Human Rights Commission would like to thank all the people who generously contributed their stories, artwork, poetry and time to make this publication possible; Jo Ritale and Angelo at the State Library of Queensland and the communities of Cherbourg, Mapoon Mission,  Monamona and Mornington Island for giving us permission to reproduce photographs from the State Library of Queensland’s exhibition, ‘Broken Links’, 2007; Murray Wilcox and Joanna Richardson for providing valuable insights into the cases in which they were involved; Siobhan McHugh; Lisa Stefanoff and IAD Press; Paul Oliver, Rebecca Stuart, Louise McDermott, Janet Drummond, Katie Kiss, Anna Dawson, Julia Mansour  and all the other staff at the Commission  who gave  generously  of  their time   and  expertise; our Indigenous designer, Leigh Harris at Ingeous Studios for his endless patience and wisdom throughout the design process. All contributors are listed in the  Biographical Index. 

Edited by Christina Kenny.

Copyright notice

This publication, and all works contained therein, are subject to copyright and the operation of the Copyright Act 1968 (Cth) (‘the Copyright Act’). Except as permitted under the Copyright Act, this publication or any work or part therein may not be used or reproduced (by any process) without prior written permission from the Australian Human Rights Commission. Inquires should be addressed to the Social Justice Unit, Australian Human Rights Commission, GPO Box, 5218 Sydney NSW, 2001.


Please be aware that this publication contains the names and images of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who may now be deceased.


The material in this publication includes views and recommendations of individual contributing authors, which do not necessarily reflect the views of the Commission or indicate its commitment to a particular course of action.